1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email
Suzanne Barbezat

UNESCO World Heritage Sites

By July 14, 2009

Follow me on:

UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, maintains a list of sites around the world that are considered to be of outstanding universal value, with the purpose of identifying and seeking to protect and preserve these special places. Sites considered for inclusion on the list must go through a lengthy nomination process and are evaluated by a committee before they are accepted. Sites can also be removed from the list, which happened for the first time this year, when the Dresden Elbe Valley in Germany was removed from the list due to the construction of a four-lane bridge in the heart of its cultural landscape.

There are 25 cultural sites and four natural sites in Mexico that UNESCO has identified as world heritage sites. It's not surprising that Mexico has so many sites on UNESCO's list considering its rich history and culture, as well as its gorgeous landscapes. Among the places in Mexico that are included are archaeological sites, colonial cities and outstanding buildings and natural areas. Read more about Mexico's World Heritage Sites. And to read more about other world heritage sites around the globe, check out About.com's latest blog carnival put together by About.com's Guide to Italy Travel, Martha Bakerjian: UNESCO World Heritage Sites around the world.

No comments yet. Leave a Comment
Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.